Immigration

Through the beginning of this unit there many things that have come up that have expanded my knowledge of immigration in the United States. One has been learning about the experiences of immigrant high schoolers in the film I Learn America. Many of them explained their reasoning for coming to the USA in the first place, and how they did not have a choice. I had always just assumed that they felt the same way about immigrating as their parents did. It makes sense that they might have wanted to stay because it was their home country and it was where all of their friends were, even if there was turmoil. It breaks my heart that people my age have to go through so many struggles, such as worrying about learning a new language or being deported, when the only thing I have had to worry about this year was school and my research paper. Whenever I thought about immigrants, I always thought about adults moving to a new country for a better life, not kids just like I am.
For over a century, immigrants have come to America in search of a better life. That is a pretty well known fact, even if we don’t exactly have streets made of gold, somehow people seem to think of the United States that way. I know that that seems to be the reason people immigrate here, but of course I also know that it is because of struggles in their own home countries. I still cannot seem to wrap my head around the fact that so many people want to be in this country, even when they know that they will face so many challenges. They know that it will be a struggle to get a green card, gain citizenship, adapt to the culture, speak the language, and get a job, but somehow, they are still set on this. Maybe it is because they have looked at all the people who have made the same voyage in the past and have succeeded greatly in life. Maybe they take this step because it is better than what they would have if they did not. I don’t know exactly why people immigrate to America, but they do, and they face all the challenges that meet them with courage and I am still so astonished by the ability to do that.

2 thoughts on “Immigration

  1. I would be interested to hear about your own family’s immigration story. I remember you saying that they faced prejudice because they were Irish and Catholic, and it would be cool to compare their immigration story to modern immigration stories. Not only would the prejudice they face differ, but the reasons for why they immigrated to America would also be different.

    Like

    1. I actually don’t know too much about my family’s history in immigration. I know about when they immigrated, but I would love to be able to look into what struggles they faced when coming to a new country. I’m betting the prejudice they may have faced would not be too different, except today it is directed more towards a different kind of people that it used to be. If my family were to immigate to America now, rather than back when they did, I’m sure it would be much different.

      Like

Leave a Reply

